# Strategic Planning & Budget Advisory Committee



### **Meeting Agenda**

Wednesday, January 17, 2015 2:00–3:30 pm Glacier View Room

Audio conference: 866-832-7806 PIN: 957 99 22

• 10 min: Introduction / Review Agenda

• 10 min: Update: FY17 budget outlook (Michael Ciri)

• 10 min: Update: Budget Exercise & Program Review (Priscilla Schulte)

• 20 min: Group Work Session: Achieving administrative efficiencies

 Faculty Senate memo on "Efficiency Considerations for Administrative Areas"

• 30 min: Groups report out & discussion

• 10 min: Wrap up

## Strategic Planning & Budget Advisory Committee



### **Committee Charge**

The Committee is charged with the following:

- Provide overall advice to UAS leadership about implementation of the UAS Strategic and Assessment Plan (SAP), including our mission, vision, and core themes
- Provide oversight for NWCCU accreditation compliance and report preparation
- Provide recommendations about continuous improvement and refinement of UAS's planning and budgeting processes in light of the SAP
- Advise UAS leadership about budget principles, priorities, and allocation criteria that guide annual resource allocation decisions as well as allocation and utilization of facilities and technology-related resources
- Review and present input to UAS leadership about annual operating and capital budget requests
- Promote transparency and accountability in our planning and budget processes, and assist with communication about those processes and outcomes to the broader university community
- Promote meaningful participation by appropriate university governance groups in the UAS strategic planning and budgeting process.

#### **Members**

- Richard Caulfield, Chancellor
- Priscilla Schulte, Interim Provost & Ketchikan Campus Director
- Joseph Nelson, Vice Chancellor of Enrollment Management & Student Affairs
- Michael Ciri, Vice Chancellor of Administrative Services
- Deborah Lo, Dean, School of Education and Graduate Studies
- Karen Schmitt, Dean, School of Arts and Sciences & Vice Provost for Research and Sponsored Programs
- Vickie Williams, Dean, School of Management
- Pete Traxler, Executive Dean, School of Career Education
- Paula Martin, Director, Sitka Campus

- Barbara Hegel, Registrar
- Elise Tomlinson, Regional Director, Library Services
- Maren Haavig, President, Faculty Senate
- Maria Moya, Representative, Provost's Office
- Kolene James, Representative, Staff Council
- Roxy Felkl, Director, Budget, Grants, and Contracts
- Keith Gerken, Director of Facilities
- Gail Cheney, Director of Human Resources
- Brad Ewing, Manager, Institutional Effectiveness
- Eric Scott, Director, Campus Life
- Callie Conerton, President, United
  Students University of Alaska Southeast