Skip to content
 Scroll To Top


In recognition of the importance of citizen involvement in the planning and implementation of higher education programs and services for the state of Alaska, the Board of Regents hereby establishes Campus Councils for the University of Alaska Southeast.  These councils, advisory in nature, shall offer guidance to each local educational unit and serve as a link for its public constituencies to the Board of Regents.

The chancellor shall appoint no fewer than 7 and no more than 15 persons to serve on a council in Juneau and in each community or region where a university campus is located. Council membership should be broadly representative of the constituencies served by the campus.

Council members shall serve without compensation but may be reimbursed for reasonable and necessary travel expenses in accordance with Policy and Regulation.

Membership on Campus Council

Membership on Campus Councils shall be determined as follows:

  1. Council members shall be residents of the campus service area. To assure vital community interests are considered, members from the following categories are recommended:
    • Local Government
    • School District
    • State Government
    • Federal Government
    • Military
    • Chamber of Commerce
    • Native Corporations

Council members appointed from one of the organizations specified in category #1 may serve until leaving the organization.

Local members of the Alaska Legislature, the president of the UAS Alumni Association and former regents of the University of Alaska may serve as ex officio members unless appointed to a designated or at-large seat.

  1. Council members shall be appointed for terms not to exceed four years. Terms of membership will be staggered to provide overlap of incumbent and new members, and members shall be eligible to serve a maximum of three consecutive terms.
  2. All terms of appointment shall expire on June 30.
  3. At least three months prior to the expiration date of an appointment, the Campus Council shall solicit nominations for new members.
  4. The Campus Council will review the nominations and forward a list of nominees through the chief administrative officer to the chancellor at least 30 days prior to the effective date of the new appointment. Appointments will be made by the chancellor. Vacancies occurring during a term shall be filled in a similar manner and replacements shall complete the unexpired portion of the term. The Campus Council may make recommendations concerning membership.

Powers, Duties, and Responsibilities of Campus Councils

The powers, duties, and responsibilities of each Campus Council shall be as follows:

  1. Advocate the interests of the campus.
  2. Participate in the recruitment, and selection, of the respective local campus chief administrative officer.
  3. Review the development of new program proposals, proposals to change existing programs, and proposals to eliminate programs.
  4. Participate in the development of campus and university mission statements, master and annual plans.
  5. Review of the proposed annual capital and operating budget requests before their submission.
  6. Review and recommend, through appropriate administrative channels, changes in Policy and Regulation.
  7. Submit reports from time-to-time to the Board of Regents on the activities and needs of the campus.
  8. Assist the chief administrative officer of the campus in the identification and development of private and public sources of revenue.
  9. Recommend members to serve on the Campus Council.
  10. Suggest ways to involve the university with the community.
  11. Encourage community participation and support in the development of university activities.
  12. Other duties at the request of the Chancellor.

Juneau Campus Advisory Council

NameBusiness / OrganizationTitle
Mr. Walter Majoros (CHAIR)Juneau Youth Services, Inc.Executive Director
Dr. Susan AlexanderPNWRProgram Manager
Mr. Chuck BillBartlett Regional HospitalChief Executive Officer
Ms. Pamela DayState of Alaska Division of Personnel Recruitment ServicesHuman Resources Consultant
Ms. Nancy DeCherneyJuneau Arts & Humanities CouncilExecutive Director
Capt. Shannan GreeneUS Coast GuardCommander, Sector Juneau
Ms. Rosemary HagevigAARP
Mr. Steve HamiltonWestmark Baranof HotelGeneral Manager
Mr. Jesse KiehlCBJ AssemblyAssembly Liaison
Mr. Bill LegereKTOOPresident & General Manager
Mr. Mark MillerJuneau School DistrictSuperintendent
Mr. Richard PetersonCentral Council Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of AlaskaPresident
Mr. Dante ReyesElgee, Rehfeld, Mertz
Mr. Mike SatreHecla Greens CreekGovernment and Community Relations Manager
Mr. Sander SchijvensWostmann & AssociatesChief Executive Officer
Ms. Andi StoryJuneau School BoardSchool Board Member
Mr. Jim StraderBartlett Regional HospitalDirector of Community Relations & Marketing
Ms. Karen TaugGoldbelt / Representing Sealaska Bartlett Regional Hospital
Mr. Ted WilsonJuneau School DistrictDirector of Teaching and Learning

Ex-Officio Members

NameBusiness / OrganizationTitle
Chancellor Rick Caulfield  
Regent Dale AndersonUA Board of RegentsRegent
Regent Gordon EvansUA Board of RegentsFormer Regent
Regent Ken FisherUA Board of RegentsRegent
Ms. Maren HaavigUAS Faculty SenatePresident
Ms. Callie ConertonUAS Student GovernmentPresident
Lt. David CampbellUAS Alumni AssociationPresident
Mr. Brian HolstCommunity AdvisorJEDC Executive Director
Mr. Bruce BotelhoCommunity AdvisorFormer Mayor

Juneau Campus Advisory Council meets monthly. The next regular meeting will be in the Egan Classroom Wing, Glacier View Room on Monday, May 9, 2016 at noon. 

Ketchikan Campus Advisory Council

The Ketchikan Campus Advisory Council meetings will start up again in September. 

NameBusiness / Organization
Susan Bethel (CHAIR)Community Connections
Keith AndersonKetchikan Ministerial Association
Cindy BrunerCommunity Advisor
Bess ClarkCommunity Connections
Jack JacksonUS Coast Guard
Helen MickelTongass Federal Credit Union
Bill RoteckiKetchikan Gateway Borough
Sonya SkanKetchikan Indian Community
Jim Van HornKetchikan Gateway Borough
Doug WardAlaska Ship & Drydock

Ex-Officio Members

NameBusiness / Organization
Bob BoyleKetchikan Gateway Borough School district
Richard A Caulfield, Ph.D.UAS Chancellor
Priscilla SchulteUAS Interim Provost and Ketchikan Campus Director

Sitka Campus Advisory Council

NameBusiness / Organization
Keith Perkins (CHAIR)Rural Development
Marlene Clarke (Wrangell)Retired, Business
Mark GormanMunicipal Administrator
Bill HuttonMt. Edgecumbe High School Superintendent
Tiffany JanssenFirst National Bank Alaska
Anne Morrison (Wrangell)Retired, Business
Bonnie RichardsRetired, Business
Tim RyanNorth Pacific Seafoods
Fran SchwuchowAlaska Employment Servivces
John SteinRetired, Business
Mary WegnerSitka School District, Superintendent
Garry WhiteSitka Economic Development Association
Lillian Nielsen YoungShee Atika, Inc.

Ex-Officio Members

Commander Mark VislayUS Coast Guard Air Station
Richard A Caulfield, Ph.D.UAS Chancellor
Paula MartinUAS Sitka Campus Director

Sitka Campus Advisory Council meetings are held once a semester.

Meetings are held from 11:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. in room 219.


Content maintained by The Chancellor's Office.