Skip to content

Cascade Server maintains a full version history on each asset in the system. As changes are made to any asset in the system, Cascade Server keeps track of the changes in separate copies of the asset called Versions. These are accessible through the More tab, or Advanced tab for Cascade versions prior to 6.7, of any asset in the Home area by simply clicking "More" (or "Advanced") and selecting "Versions" from the drop-down.

The versions list for each asset shows a list of each version, the author for each change, including the original creator of the asset, as well as the time and date of the change and any notes available. Users may navigate through the various versions, compare them with the current version, and activate any version desired.

Each version has a timestamp that allows the user to see when the change was made. This functionality is also available through a workflow trigger as well.

A version may be either previewed, which shows the user what the asset looked like at that point in time, or activated, which means that the current state of the asset takes on the content of the specified version.

The versioning system is similar to a multi-level undo whereby users can revert to a previous version at a later date.

PLEASE NOTE - Activating a version does not wipe out the current version for an asset. The current version becomes versioned as well, allowing you to effectively "un-do" the activation.

Cascade Server maintains a full version history on each asset in the system. The versions list for each asset shows a list of each version, the author for each change, including the original creator of the asset, as well as the time and date of the change and any notes available. Users may navigate through the various versions, compare them with the current version, and activate any version desired

Viewing a Version

Cascade Server automatically saves a version of an asset every time changes are submitted. These versions can be viewed or activated as needed.

To view a version of an asset:

  1. Select the desired asset. In version 6.7 and later, click on the More tab. In versions prior to 6.7, click on the Advanced tab.

advanced versions
Version 6.7 and later

advanced versions
Versions prior to 6.7

  1. Select "Versions" from the drop-down menu.
  2. You will see a list of versions showing for each version:

advanced versions screen

Path - The name and path for the current asset (this will be the same for each version, unless the asset has been moved or renamed at some point).
Last Modified On - The date that this asset was last modified

Last Modified By – The System user who last edited the asset.
Comments-
any comments relevant to a particular version.

  1. Click on the version you want to view, and it will open in the main view.
  2. You will see an added " viewing" bar, allowing you to select the following actions:
    Newer - Scroll through to a later version.
    Older - Scroll through to an earlier version.
    Current - Reverts back to the active or current version.
    Activate - Makes the currently viewed version the active or current version.
    Delete - Deletes the currently viewed version from the versions list.