Editing, Moving and Deleting Blackboard Content
You can edit, delete and move most types of Blackboard content by using the drop-down menu you'll find next to the Name of that component. This includes moving or copying whole folders.
Exception: You cannot move or copy anything that is linked to the Gradebook. In Blackboard Tests and Assignments (what were formerly called Tasks in UASOnline) are automatically linked to the Gradebook. The same can be true of assessments and interactive tools such as blogs and wikis.
If you attempt to move or copy a folder that contains components linked to the gradebook) then you will be warned.
To move a component linked to the gradebook you will need to delete it and re-deploy it in the new location. An alternative is to make a "Course Link" - this lets you put a link in any Content Area or Folder that can re-direct students to any other component in the course. Use with caution and consistency since it can make navigation confusing for students. For example, clearly label it as "A shortcut to the Chapter 5 Quiz" so that students know it is not a new quiz.
The drop-down menu (accessed by clicking on the two downward arrows next to most components) allows these option:
- Edit (Change Name, Description, Options, Attached files, etc.)
- Copy - if allowed make a copy in another location - you will be given a chance to browse through the course Content Areas and Folders
- Move - if allowed, move to a new location - you will be given a chance to browse through the course Content Areas and Folders
- Delete - delete this component
When you Copy or Move
You will be given a chance to "Browse" and choose any Content Area or Folder