Skip to content
 Scroll To Top

1. Where are the recordings (for the new version) - 2015

Recordings are no longer in WebMeeting Archives.  They are on the same page as "Join Room".  Click on the link "RECORDINGS" and then set the date range to include the date(s) of the recording and click "Go".  The default date range is the current week so changing the first date to the beginning of the semester will show all recordings. Each person has to adjust their own date range.

Link to Recordings

(Click on image to see larger - it will open in a new window. This image is Instructor View - Students do not see the "Schedule a Session" box.)

2. How do I invite a Guest Speaker to my Collaborate Meeting (2015)

One way to invite a guest speaker is through the "In Session Invitation" which is found in the Tools menu.  NOTE: You may have to Edit Room and enable "Allow In-session Invitations".

Perhaps an easier way is to open your Collaborate session up to Guests - this provides a link you can send in advance to your guest speaker.  Bear in mind that the guest speaker will need to install the "Launcher" program on their computer, so being able to send them a link well in advance of the session is advisable.

To enable guest access (see figures below): 

  • Click the Edit Room link that is under the Join Room button
  • Scroll down and click the button to Allow Guests
  • Save
  • Now you will see a link to Invite Guests under the Join Room button
  • Click the Invite Guests link and you'll see a URL (Web Address) you can copy and also a means of emailing an invitation

1) Edit Room  2)Allow Guests  3)Invite Guests

3. How do I "Hide" Collaborate Recordings in the New Collaborate Version (2015)

You can hide recordings from students by Editing the settings for the recording.  You will restrict access to yourself only and then the recording will be hidden from anyone else who has not been granted access.

  • Go to the Blackboard Collaborate Session Manager (may be the Webmeeting link in your course if it is set up to use the new version of Collaborate)
  • Click on the Recordings Link and find the recording you wish to hide
  • With your mouse over the recording name use the circle/arrow menu and choose "Edit Recording".  (Note this edits the settings for the recording it does not actually let you edit the recording.)  See image below.
  • You may wish to rename the session - otherwise there is no visible indicator that the recording is hidden
  • Scroll down and find the section "Roles and Access".  Check the box next to "Restrict Access to this session".  See image below.
  • If you want it hidden from everyone but yourself, then do not add additional Participants
  • Submit

The recording will still be visible to you but will simply not show to other Participants (unless you added their name to grant access).  The links to the mp3 and mp4 files will also not show.  It is a good idea to rename the recording by adding the word "Hidden" or other designation to remind yourself that access to this recording is restricted.

Edit Recording       Restrict Access to Recording

4. What happens when I convert a Collaborate recording to mp4? (2015)

Aug 2015: when you click the link to convert a Collaborate (2015) recording to and mp4 video it will create the video and you and your students will be able to either play or download it.  The video recording shows the whiteboard and activity on it or it shows application sharing - it doesn't show the participant list, chat or audio/video pod.

If you want to re-use the recording for future classes you will need to do one of two things:

1) Add the other classes(s) to the access list for the recording or enalble Guest access.  If you enable Guest access for a recording then a link will be generated which you can post elsewhere.  Change permissions or enable Guest Access by using the Edit Recording command. (See Figure - opens in new tab/window)

2) Download the mp4 recording and post it elsewhere.  One way to re-use it is to post the recording (unlisted if you wish) on YouTube.  If the recording contains copyright material (e.g. PowerPoint slides from your publisher) then you will need to restrict it to your class.

The Edit Recording command only lets you change settings - to actually edit the recording (cut out portions of it for example) you will need to download the mp4 and use movie editing software to edit it.

5. Security settings are not letting Collaborate (or older Elluminate recordings) for me or my students. It there anything to be done?

Older recordings may run into problems with current security Java settings.  The two documents below explain how to change the Java security settings on a Mac or in Windows.

Note: About updating Java - updating past version 7 is not necessary to run the current version of Blackboard collaborate and version 8 may cause some issues in Mac OS.  

The sites that need to be added to the Java exception list for Blackboard/Collaborate are and - note the https in the URL.

6. How do I add a Webmeeting to my Portfolio?

Aug 2015 - at this time only the older version of Collaborate can be used in the portfolio system

You can add a webMeeting (Blackboard Collaborate) to any page on your UAS Online portfolio. These WebMeetings are by default open to the public so you can use them for professional meetings, for online office hours involving multiple classes, etc.

Step-by-step Instructions: Add a WebMeeting to a UAS Online Portfolio page (pdf)


Content maintained by Instructional Design Center.