Skip to content
Scroll To Top

Facility Info, Public Use and Library Displays 

Named after William A. Egan, Chair of Alaska’s Constitutional Convention and the state’s first governor (1959-1966), the university’s 50,000-square-foot library opened in 1990.  The architectural firms BOOR/A and Jensen Douglas jointly designed the facility and won a 1991 Honor Award for Excellence in Architecture from the American Institute of Architects for it.  Skylights and expansive two-story windows provide natural daylight as well as views of Auke Lake and the surrounding rainforest.  The facility is not only worth visiting for its unique and attractive architecture but also for the collection of Northwest Coast Native Art (PDF) it houses, including wood carvings, basketry, and Ravenstail weaving.  A grizzly bear skeleton, cleaned and prepared by a former student, is also on display.

Members of the public are welcome to visit and use this attractive facility, use and checkout our collections, utlize our public use computers and wifi.  It is located 1.6 miles from the Alaska Marine Highways terminal, 4 miles from the Juneau airport, and 12 miles from downtown Juneau.  Capital Transit bus routes provide service to the UAS campus hourly during business hours on weekdays and during all transit service hours on Back Loop Road within ¼  mile of the library. 

Children in the library must be accompanied and supervised (within line of site) by an adult when visiting the library.  Egan Library adheres to the UAS Children on Campus policy.  We have a collection of juvenile fiction and non-fiction books available for borrowing.


Questions?  Contact Us! Content maintained by Egan Library.

Chat loading...