Skip to content
 Scroll To Top

Current UAS News Releases

UAS invites teachers and artists to unique experience

The University of Alaska Southeast invites teachers and artists to “UAS 2017 Summer in the Rainforest: Teachers as Artists; Artists as Teachers,” a place-based learning experience exploring the creative core of both teaching and the arts.

This event is provided in two sessions from July 24-29 and July 30- Aug. 4. Week one includes the Basic & Beyond Arts Institute and the Teaching Artists Academy, which are teaching intensive. Week two includes the UAS Indigenous Arts Institute, which is open to the community.

Each session will provide a daily workshop taught by local instructors. Topics will include hands-on theater, Alaska Native art forms, visual arts, music, movement, digital media arts, and writing workshops.

During the Basic & Beyond Arts Institute, teachers will learn how to apply brain research into the classroom and to understand how the arts increase student engagement and achievement.

Participants will work on a final project–a detailed lesson plan that is part of a larger instructional unit that integrates the arts and reflects the use of local indigenous knowledge and art forms in K-12 classrooms.

Artists participating in the week one Teaching Artists Academy will learn strategies on how to work effectively with students of all ages in varied settings with practice in brain research, lesson planning, curriculum integration, classroom management, communication, and teaching students with developmental disabilities.

Instructors for the Beyond Arts Institute and the Teaching Artists Academy include artist, Ryan Conarro, instructor of education, Lynn Williams, Lorrie Heagy, Annie Calkins, and Robin Davis.

“Participants will recognize that individual lives create living history, and they will gain meaningful understanding and respect for the depth and significance of place. They will receive the unique experience offered here, in the heart of Auk Kwaan,” said Ernestine Hayes, Alaska State Writer Laureate and assistant professor of English at UAS.”

Hayes is just one of the highly-regarded instructors that will teach during the UAS Indigenous Arts Institute of the workshop. She will be joined by Lance Twitchell, assistant professor of Alaska Native languages, Lyle James, project coordinator and lead teacher for Goldbelt Heritage Foundation, and Tom Gamble, lead academic counselor for Goldbelt Heritage Foundation.

Continuing education credits are also available to participants. Those who sign up for the Basic & Beyond Arts Institute will participate in the week two Indigenous Arts Institute. All course activities will take place on the UAS Auke Lake campus in Juneau.

UAS 2017 Summer in the Rainforest is a two-week, two part inaugural event conducted by UAS in collaboration with the Alaska Arts Education Consortium, Sealaska Heritage Institute, Juneau Arts and Humanities Council, JSD Artful Teaching Program, Juneau Arts for Any Given Child project, and Goldbelt Heritage Foundation.

Registration is open until July 24.

Contact: Keni Campbell
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: (907) 796-6509

UAS Literacy Camp Connects Teachers in Reading Specialist Program with Local Students

Certified Alaskan teachers in the University of Alaska Southeast’s Master of Education Reading Specialist program participated in an intensive three-week literacy camp with elementary and middle school students.

The teachers, hailing from St. Michael’s, Nome, and Southeast Alaska, developed and explored various ways to get to know, engage, and connect with students who require support in English language development.

“The literacy practicum…has supported me to be more purposeful in my lesson planning and text selections,” said Laura Anania. “I have gained a deeper understanding of reading strategies and how to guide my students in becoming confident, lifelong readers.”

Each day, the teachers analyzed their curriculum and teaching data in the morning sessions and refined and presented responsive instruction for their students in the afternoon.

Jessica Marks finished the course with new strategies for her classroom. “My cohort and I were able to create lessons that directly targeted individual students’ needs while drawing on their strengths. I have grown in confidence as a professional who can provide and use authentic assessments to drive my instruction,” she said.

The yearly camp immerses both teachers and students in a collaborative learning experience, which allows them to explore various avenues for engagement in reading exercises.

Marks continued, “Thanks to my experience…many of the concepts that were previously introduced in our on-line courses were made actionable in real time. The assessments we designed, the kid-watching and conferring, and the data they provide about students strengths and areas of need are incredibly powerful. I now feel confident returning to my school and implementing these influential practices.”

The UAS Master of Education-Reading Specialist program prepares graduates to become reading specialists for children in kindergarten through the twelfth grade. Program candidates apply reading theory and research, learn new methodologies, and develop collaborative leadership skills.

For more information about the reading specialist program and other Education degree programs, visit the School of Education website.

Contact: Keni Campbell
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: (907) 796-6509

Public and Media Relations

  • 796-6469  (Fax)
Hendrickson Bldg 
11066 Auke Lake Way
Juneau, AK
Mailstop: HB1

Soundings »


Content maintained by Webmaster.