Skip to content

SE Conference Scholarship Recipients

$15,500 awarded to seven UAS students for 2007-2008

Southeast Conference awarded $15,500 in scholarships to seven UAS students for the 2007-08 school year. Scholarships went to students throughout Southeast. Awards ranged from $500 or $3,000 for these students who are pursuing college degrees and vocational training.


  • Juneau: Jensyne Mason, David Paradis, Micaela Ponce, and Elizabeth Stickel
  • Ketchikan: Dollee F. Enright
  • Sitka: George Jackson
  • Wrangell: Cassandra Huffman.

Southeast Conference established its UAS scholarship program with a $25,000 donation by Alaska Airlines. The donation was intended to support residents of the region as they pursue educational and career goals consistent with the organization's objectives.The scholarship program encourages traditional and non-traditional students to apply. Applications are available at the UAS Financial Aid offices in Sitka, Ketchikan and Juneau and are due by February 1st. The 2007 recipients ranged in age from 20 to 33.

Since its scholarship program began, Southeast Conference has awarded over $115,000 in scholarships to more than 130 students attending UAS campuses. The scholarship auction held at the Annual Meeting in Ketchikan last September brought in over $11,000 to help fund this yearís scholarships.

SEC is a regional membership non-profit focused on building a strong economy, healthy communities, and a quality environment in Southeast Alaska. It has more than 140 members, including boroughs, communities, chambers of commerce, businesses, non-profits, Alaska Native organizations, and individuals interested in the economic and social well being of the residents of the region.


Content maintained by Webmaster.