Skip to content

Staff Make Students Count Winners

Congratulations to Kolene James, Native and Rural Student Center Coordinator.

Kolene and President Mark Hamilton
Kolene James and President Mark Hamilton

Kolene is one of four winners of the 2009 University of Alaska Staff Make Students Count Award. University of Alaska President Mark Hamilton presented the awards during the June 4th Board of Regents meeting in Fairbanks. This year's award winners received a plaque, $1,000 and two airline vouchers. Kolene was most notably recognized for her caring and supportive ways with students. She is involved with numerous campus and community groups including:

  • Cultural Infusion Action Committee
  • Native Olympics
  • Native Oratory Competition
  • Native Graduation
  • Celebration k’
  • Wooch.een Club Advisor
  • Gay Straight Alliance Club Advisor

The other UAS nominees were:

  • Sandra Burgess - Advising Assistant - Sitka
  • Keni Campbell - Alumni Manager - Juneau
  • Chris Hoyt - Student Services Coordinator - Ketchikan
  • Kent Kay - Program Assistant - Juneau
  • Kim Schulte - Instructional Tech - Ketchikan
  • Linda Smith - Administrative Assistant –Juneau

Congratulations to all the UAS nominees! University of Alaska President Mark Hamilton established this award several years ago to recognize and promote the extraordinary efforts of staff to better the life of UA students.


Content maintained by Webmaster.