Skip to content

8th Annual Native Oratory Results

By Kolene James

Wooch.een celebrates the success of the 8th Annual Native Oratory Contest Saturday, March 6 at the Juneau campus. Here are the top three placements for the following categories:

Native Language

Crystal Rogers, 1st place UAS Student
Gloria Anderstrom, 2nd place UAS PITAAS Student
Joseph Yates, 3rd place UAS PITAAS Student


Maka, 1st place Yakutat HS Student
Naahaan, 2nd place UAS Student
Joseph Yates, 3rd place UAS PITAAS Student

Dramatic Declamation

Joseph Yates, 1st place UAS PITAAS Student
Crystal Rogers, 2nd place UAS Student
Maka, 3rd place Yakutat HS Student


Joseph Yates, 1st place UAS PITAAS Student
Ralph Wolfe, 2nd place UAS PITAAS Student
Lorena Phillips, 3rd place UAS Student

Student Oratory participants covered a rainbow of issues touching our hearts and minds! Student Dramatic Declamation participants brought our history to life! Student Storytelling participants painted scenes of wonder and excitement! Student Language participants validated our ancestors, elders, and teachers efforts to keep our languages alive! To all of the students, we are proud of you!

We would like to thank TRiO Lisa Bogert and UAS PITAAS Student Liana Wallace for assisting with check in, and the Friday volunteer judges who provided feed back to our students: Joe Nelson, Karen Mitchell, Kay McCarthy, Jacque Tagaban, Jessie Grant, Jenifer Vernon, Dan Montieth, Luke Fortier, Wendy Girven, Alice Taff, Richard Dauenhauer. Students were able to apply the Friday judges valuable input towards their competition round!

Wooch.een would like thank all of the volunteer judges, time keepers, video recorders and tally people without your presence we would not have had such a successful event! Gunalchéesh for your continued support of our Wooch.een events to Vice Chancellor Gifford for the Saturday morning UAS Welcome and to Chancellor Pugh for the Saturday afternoon UAS Welcome, we appreciate your involvement and presence! We would also like to recognize the following contributors, without their donations we would not be able to host these amazing events: The Chancellor’s Fund, UAS Student Government, Wooch.een and the Native & Rural Student Center!


Content maintained by Webmaster.