Skip to content

Ketchikan Commencement

May 8, 2010

Ketchikan Group Photo
Karen Head, BA, Ghert Abbott, AA, Samantha May, AA, Robert Boyd, AA, Cameron Taylor, AA, Ashley Smith, AA, Eugenia Smith, MEd, Special Education, Debra Taylor, BA, Steffani Schwierking, BA – Social Work (UAF), Kali Bowers, BA, Misty Archibald, AA

Robert Boyd
Commencement Speakers
Robert Boyd (Student Speaker)

Our student speaker was just conferred with an Associate of Arts degree this past fall. He is the husband of Brittany Boyd and together they have two beautiful daughters, Emma, 4 and Lily, 1. He has lived in Ketchikan for over 20 years, and has been attending UAS since 2007. His goal is to complete his Bachelors in Environmental Science and then go on to a Master's program. He is a member of Phi Theta Kappa – National Honor Society for Two Year Colleges and was recently elected as a Board Member to The Wildlife Society’s Native People Wildlife Management Working Group. He is a proud member of the Ketchikan Indian Community, Alaska Native Brotherhood, Sealaska, and Shee Atiká.

Sara Lawson
Sara Lawson (Commencement Speaker)

Sara is a nonprofit management professional with 15+ years experience in a range of community benefit organizations, including the arts, higher education, health care, and public radio.

Marguerite Auger
Marguerite Auger,
2010 UAS Meritorious Service Award Recipient

Individuals receiving the UAS Meritorious Service Award are expected to mirror in their own public lives the quality of service they contribute to the community. In Marguerite Auger, however, the very concept of service broadens significantly because we see the effect of what she’s devoted to mirrored not only in her own life, but in the lives of others – specifically, in the hundreds of dancers who have studied under her at the Ketchikan Theatre Ballet (KTB). For three decades, Ketchikan has been unquestionably a better place to live because of this remarkable, still-young woman.

UAS Ketchikan Other Awards

KCAC (Ketchikan Campus Advisory Council) awards:
Faculty of the Year: William Urquhart
Staff of the Year: Kimberly Schulte

USUAS (student government) awards:
Faculty of the Year: John Radzilowski
Student of the Year: Chris Olstad


Content maintained by Webmaster.