Skip to content

Commencement 2013

UAS will award close to 700 degrees, occupational endorsements and certificates at 2013 commencement ceremonies in Juneau, Ketchikan and Sitka May 3-5.

The student speaker at the Juneau ceremony is Outstanding Graduate in Social Science Forest Haven. The EPSCoR, Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research undergraduate research grant recipient was extensively involved in archaeological fieldwork around southern Southeast Alaska and presented professional academic research papers. She plans to pursue a PhD. in Anthropology.

Learn more about Forest and other Outstanding Grads.

Honorary Doctorate of Laws recipient Charles Northrip gives the Juneau commencement address. Northrip managed Alaska’s first public radio and TV stations, served as the first Executive Director of the Alaska Public Broadcasting Commission, directed Alaska’s first satellite communications experiments, managed Juneau’s KTOO FM and TV, and directed the Juneau Economic Development Council. Currently, he is Chief of Party for the Education Development Center’s Sudan Radio Service (SRS), based in Nairobi, Kenya. University of Alaska President Patrick Gamble will give closing remarks at the Juneau ceremony.   About 21 graduates will participate in a Native graduation ceremony prior to the regular ceremony in the Egan Library on the Juneau campus.

The Sitka ceremony will join two University of Alaska campuses, as some Sitka graduates participate from the University of Alaska Anchorage via video conference. Roger Schmidt, the executive director of the Sitka Fine Arts Camp is commencement speaker. This year’s Ketchikan commencement speaker is Elizabeth Nelson, Artistic Director for First City Players and 2012 Distinguished Woman of the Year.


Content maintained by Webmaster.