Skip to content Skip to content
Visit Spike Whale Southeast on Instagram Visit Spike Whale Southeast on Twitter Become a friend of UAS on Facebook Visit the UAS YouTube Channel

11-20-2017

Events

Nov 20

7:00PM - Open Gym: Dodgeball


Nov 21

7:00PM - Open Gym: Basketball


Nov 22

6:30AM - REC Closes early for Thanksgiving

8:00AM - Student Government Meeting

6:00PM - Community Thanksgiving

6:00PM - Climbing Wall Orientations

7:00PM - Open Gym: Soccer


Student Clubs

Art Club

Providing a space for students to come together and make art, planning annual art show gallery.

Student Lead: Jenae Kesey,  jenaekesey851@gmail.com

Club Advisors: Jeremy Kane, jmkane@alaska.edu, 907-796-6222 

Meeting Times: TBA

Campus Inclusivity Alliance

A group dedicated to creating a safe community and opening doors for all UAS students -regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity, and more through supportive discussion and events.  

Club Advisors: Kolene James, kejames@uas.alaska.edu, 907-796-6454

Student Lead: Student Lead: Emma Thibeaultethibeault95@gmail.com

Meeting Times: TBA

UAS Campus Conservatives

The mission of University of Alaska Campus Conservatives to bring the voices of conservatism to the UAS campus in order to foster open political discourse. 

Club Advisors: Glenn Wright, gdwright@alaska.edu, (907) 796-6115 

Student Lead: Student Lead: Taylor Stumpf, taylorloveswhales@gmail.com 

Meeting Times: Mondays from 6 to 8 pm

Disk Golf Club

The UAS Disc Golf Club gives everyone the opportunity to get out and enjoy the pleasures of disc golfing.

Club Advisor: Derek Eby, djeby@uas.alaska.edu, (907) 796-6392

Student Contact: Blake Fletcher, bafletcher@alaska.edu

Meeting times: TBA

Flying University @ UAS

The Flying University at UAS is an on-campus extension of the Flying University at Lemon Creek Correctional Center, a prison education project that brings UAS Students into LCCC for mutual study with incarcerated students. The mission of Flying University is to provide peer support and social comfort for those transitioning from Prison to University life.

Club Advisor: Sol Neely, sjneely@uas.alaska.edu, (907) 796-6411

Student Lead: Marcos Galindo, galindomarcos1@gmail.com

Meeting times: TBA

Gaming Club

The Gaming Club will facilitate a meeting of gaming enthusiasts of all forms in a social gatehring with the intent of spreading love of gaming to those unfamiliar with various forms of gaming.

Club Advisor: Martin Carter, mcarte32@alaska.edu, (907) 340-3583

Student Contact: Walter Czopek, czowal12@live.com

Meeting Times: Meetings will be every Saturday, 5PM - 12AM in the top floor of the Egan building

UAS History Buffs

A place for history fanatics and newcomers alike to grow their knowledge and share information for a subject they're passionate about.

Club Advisor: Robin Walz and Will Elliott, rrwalz@alaska.edu, wdelliott@alaska.edu

Student Lead: Trystin Luhr, trystinluhr@gmail.com

Meeting Times: Every Saturday from 3-5PM

UAS Humans vs. Zombies Club

The purpose of the Humans vs. Zombies (HvZ) club is to prepare and organize the Humans vs. Zombies yearly event, as well as provide opportunities throughout the year for similar, smaller events.  We are made of HvZ players and enthusiasts (humans and zombies alike!), and we ensure a quality playing experience for anyone willing to participate.

Student Lead: Jonathan Deatse, jddeats@alaska.edu, (907) 419-3889

Club Advisor: Sol Neely, sjneely@alaska.edu, 907) 796-6411 

Meeting Times: Alternate Saturdays 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Liberty Library

Objective book club whose purpose is to expand philosophical knowledge and discuss possible solutions to current issues. 

Advisor: Ivan Hazelton, ivan.hazelton@uas.alaska.edu, (907) 796-6119

Student Lead: Stefann Paddock, stefann.paddock@gmail.com

Meetings: Friday at 5:00pm

UAS Math Club

Our purpose is to show mathematics outside of the classroom. This includes looking at fun facts, presentations, or challenge problems from journals. All students welcome no matter what level they are in.

Club Advisor: Chris Hay-Jahans, cnhayjahans@alaska.edu, 907-796-6408

Student Advisor: John Heritscko, dontplaywow@gmail.com

Meeting Times: 1st & 3rd Friday of each month, 4-5 pm in Egan 219.

Mycology Club

Learn about Fungi of Southeast Alaska and others around the world. The club will learn to grow mushrooms and identify fungi in the wild, as well as do some wild mushroom foraging.

Club Advisor: Dr. Sherry Tamone, sherry.tamone@uas.alaska.edu, (907) 796-6599

Student Lead: Alannah Johnson, anjohnson18@alaska.edu,  (760) 974-0646

Meeting Times: Please Contact

Outdoor Leadership

Provides non-ODS outdoor leadership opportunities.

Club Advisor: Forest Wagner, fjwagner@alaska.edu

Student Lead: Tedmund Hanrahan, tshanrahan@alaska.edu

Meeting Times: TBD

PAWsitive Impact

The purpose of PAWsitive Impact is to provide UAS students a chance to be an advocate for animals on and off campus.

PAWs members will be given volunteer opportunities throughout the year and will work to create a positive, animal friendly community.

View the club's Constitution.

Club Advisor: Ernestine Hayes, ehhayes@alaska.edu, 796-6406

Student Lead: Emma Thibeaultethibeault95@gmail.com

Meeting Times: Saturday 1:00pm - 2:00pm

UAS Pre-Health Professions Club

The UAS Pre-Health Professions Clubs mission is to provide UAS Students access to resources that will help them be successful in applying to professional programs such as medical, dental schools, etc.

Club Advisor:  Ce Ce Brenner, cebrenner2@alaska.edu (907) 796-6124, 

Student Contact: Hailey Quinto and Hailey Stockton, hsstockton@alaska.edu, hmquinto@alaska.edu

Meeting times TBA

Psychology Club

The Psychology club aims to facilitate psychological discourse and research, while providing opportunities for academic growth and future career development.

Club Advisor: Amanda Sesko, aksesko@uas.alaska.edu, (907) 796-6436

Student Lead: Liz Hawkins, ehawkins3@alaska.edu, (907) 957-5546

Meeting times: TBA

UAS Society for Human Resource Management Club

The Society for Human Resource Management Club's goal is to connect students in the BBA HR emphasis with each other and professionals in the field. Activities will include virtual webinars for professional development, social media awareness campaigns, and networking opportunities.

Club Advisor: Charla Brown, 907-796-6310,  cabrown12@gmail.com

Student Lead: Kelli Barkov, kelli.barkov@alaska.gov 

Meeting times: TBA, varies, virtual meetings. 

Please check out our website: Click Here

Radio UAS

Radio UAS is college radio for life on the University of Alaska Southeast Juneau campus. With live broadcasts, fun events, and volunteer/community outreach, we work to bring everyone together.

Club Advisor: Rosemarie Alexander-Isett, rjalexanderisett@uas.alaska.edu, (907) 796-6421

Student Contact: Felix Thillet, fathillet@alaska.edu

Meeting Times: TBA

SEA- P.A. Club of UAS (SE Alaskan Prospective Accountants)

The Accounting Club provides a forum for students to meet informally with accounting faculty and professionals working for the government and business. The purpose of the club is to connect local and online students with accounting professionals.

View the club's Constitution.

Club Advisor: John Blanchard, jhblanchard@alaska.edu, 907-796-6340

Student Lead: Jesyca Ellenbecker, jcmack@uas.alaska.edu

Meeting times: Twice a term

Spanish Club

We will speak Spanish in order to extend our vocabulary. We will be learning and practicing Spanish in a fun and informative environment.

Club Advisor: Andrea Dewees,  adewees@uas.alaska.edu, (907) 796-6008

Student Leads: Aspen Daigle, arosedaigle@gmail.com; Erika Cruz, ebcruz@alaska.edu

Meeting Times: Tusedays, 1:30 - 2:30 in the Lakeside Grill.

Sustainability Club

A fun and empowering group promoting sustainable practices on the University of Alaska Southeast Juneau campus.

Club Advisor: Lora Vess, levess@alaska.edu, (907) 796-6152

Student Lead: Griffin Plush, griffin.plush@gmail.com 

Meeting Times: Every Tuesday 8:45am - 9:15am

Veterans and Family Student Association

The UAS Veterans and Family Student Association's purpose is to connect students who are Veterans or dependents of Veterans to other students as well as staff/faculty members. Professional development sessions will be offered throughout the year that will cover topics relevant to Veterans and Veteran dependents.

Club Advisor: Deb Rydman, drrydman@alaska.edu, (907) 796-6368

Student Contact: Norix Mangual, norix.mangual@gmail.com

Meeting Times: Once per month

Without Borders

An all inclusive Jesus lovin club with the goal of providing a positive, spiritually open enviroment for students no matter their background. During open hours there is some chill coffee study hours and general hanging out. Once a month we throw a larger event, with lots of food (gotta have it), crazy games, and break out discussions over current hot topics in the world. 

Club Advisor: Allie Mogensen, almogensen@alaska.edu, (414) 731-0706

Student Lead: Amy Jensen, hfjackson@alaska.edu 

Meeting Times: Mondays 7:00pm - 12:00am

Wooch.een

As a leadership club, Wooch.een works closely with the University of Alaska Southeast and community organizations to foster a better understanding of our states wonderful tribes and promotes an awareness of our states cultural and social issues.

Club Advisors: Kolene James, kejames@uas.alaska.edu, 907-796-6454

Student Contact: Brandon Johnson, brandonjohnson44@hotmail.com, 907-796-6043

Meeting Times: Fridays, 11:00am - 12:00pm

UAS World Affairs Council

Our goal is to encourage dialog and understanding of important international, economic, political and social issues through expert presentation, informed discussion, and other educational activities.

Club Advisor: Dan Monteith, dbmonteith@alaska.edu, (907) 796-6143

Student Lead: Evan Carnahan, elcarnaha@alaska.edu

Meeting Times: Please contact

 
 

Content maintained by Webmaster. Feedback Form